New Countries Asked to Join BRICS

In addition to Egypt (we talked about it here), four more Arab countries applied to join the BRICS. The BRICS group includes, as the acronym suggests, Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, and now, in addition to Egypt that has already made a formal request, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Algeria would also like to be part of this.

According to explanations given by the Saudi-owned pan-Arab broadcaster Al Arabiya and reports by Agenzia Nova, Iran, Indonesia, Bangladesh, and Argentina have also made similar requests.